Skip navigation

NBA: 83 of 126 wins. 66 of 126 spreads.
Overall: 103 of 156 wins. 81 of 156 spreads.

So, the All Star break is over and I’m back. I didn’t feel like picking on the All Star weekend because it’s all speculative and none of the players really try all that hard in my opinion. However, my guess was honestly the West and Kobe for MVP if Phil let him play. Both were right, but I won’t claim them as picks because I didn’t really feel like picking. It was really cool to see Kobe and Shaq play so well together again and get co-MVP’s, but it left me thinking the same thing as Phil Jackson: “I’ve never heard of a player getting MVP after being in for only 11 minutes.” Seemed a little odd, but good for Shaq nonetheless. That guy was awesome in his day and deserves to go out his way, with a little flair.

In site news, I’m going to try Josh’s formatting style and see how I like it. So, instead of just putting up the line on the team names, I’ll put the spread on my pick’s side, + or -. Hopefully, that’s not too confusing. Today’s picks:

NBA

Philadelphia 76ers vs. Indiana Pacers (-2½)

The 76ers are a better team overall. The Pacers just beat Orlando and Cleveland at home, but then lost to the Bucks, Wizards, and this same 76ers team on the road. That is a spotty record if I’ve ever seen one. I’ll go with the Pacers at home because apparently they know something that I don’t. It’s like Golden State’s home record. Seriously?

Charlotte Bobcats vs. Orlando Magic (-8½)

The Magic are amazing even without Jameer Nelson. The Bobcats are streaking, but I don’t see them getting past Orlando.

Minnesota Timberwolves (+2½) vs. Washington Wizards

The Wizards are favored because they’re at home, but that’s no excuse for being one of the worst teams in the league. The Timberwolves had gone on a decent little winning streak before losing their last four and I think it’s time that they get back to winning a few, at least against crappier teams.

Milwaukee Bucks vs. Detroit Pistons (-6½)

The Piston beat the Bucks in Milwaukee a few games ago and now they’re at home. Pistons win and cover.

San Antonio Spurs (-4½) vs. New York Knicks

Ah, dare I say this again after the Spurs screwed me last time? This is my golden pick of the day. The Spurs should absolutely win this. They beat Boston in Boston and Golden State at home. Those are supposed to be two of the toughest road games for a team. The Knicks, on the other hand, are the team to set all-time records against this year.

New Orleans Hornets (-3½) vs. Oklahoma City Thunder

CP3 is back. OKC sucks. Hornets win.

New Jersey Nets vs. Houston Rockets (-6½)

The Rockets have won their last 3 at home. Both teams are spotty, but I’m guessing that the Rockets will be alright, even though their center started in the All Star game and somehow his backup got co-MVP. Crazy.

Los Angeles Clippers vs. Phoenix Suns (-8)

The Clippers have won a few recently, but they’re still terrible. The Suns still have Amare last I checked and apparently an All Star game MVP. The Suns win and cover at home.

Memphis Grizzlies vs. Utah Jazz (-11)

That’s a big spread, but the Jazz win at home. The Grizzlies are spotty and the Jazz kill it at home. This one should happen, even with an 11 point spread.

Atlanta Hawks vs. Los Angeles Lakers (-8½)

Remember that time when the Lakers were the best team in the NBA? Oh ya, that’s still happening. The Hawks are spottier than ever and lost to the Clippers at home by 24 a few games ago. Lakers win and cover.

Leave a Reply

